21.5 C
Sunday, May 28, 2023
HomeWorld NewsPresident Ruto nominates Wafula Chebukati’s wife for CRA chair

President Ruto nominates Wafula Chebukati’s wife for CRA chair


Related stories

Rishi Sunak to ask supermarkets to cap price of staples

The UK government is drawing up plans for...

Will jobs data put further pressure on the Federal Reserve?

Will the pace of US hiring slow?Hiring in...

Europe’s green transition impossible without China, says Dutch minister

Europe’s green transition will be impossible without China,...

Saudi Arabia in talks to join China-based ‘Brics bank’

The New Development Bank, the Shanghai-based lender better...

Book Bits: 27 May 2023

● We Need to Talk About Inflation: 14...


President Ruto nominates Wafula Chebukati’s wife for CRA chair


President William Ruto addressing the media at State House on May 5, 2023. PHOTO | FRANCIS NDERITU | NMG

President William Ruto has nominated Mary Wanyonyi for appointment as the chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA), replacing Jane Kiringai, who retired in February after the expiry of her six-year tenure.

Ms Wanyonyi, the wife of former electoral commission chairman Wafula Chebukati, currently heads the Ministry of Lands accounting unit.

The CRA’s mandate is to share-out revenue between national and county governments.

Ms Wanyonyi was among two others whose names were submitted to the President for nomination by the Public Service Commission (PSC), which conducted the recruitment process. They are Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu and Felicity Nkirote Biriri.

Read: PSC kicks off search for new revenue allocation boss

Parliament will now vet her before the formal appointment.

She will be the third CRA chair after Micah Cheserem and Dr Kiringai.

A certified accountant and mediator, she has over three decades of experience in accounting and holds a master’s degree in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting).

“The nominee has previously served as a Council/Board member of various state corporations and state agencies, including the Cooperative University College, Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH) and Maasai Mara University,” State House said in a statement.

SRC member nomination

President Ruto, at the same time, forwarded the name of Dr Phyllis Wambui Wagacha to Parliament for vetting and approval after nominating her as a member of the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC), where she will represent the PSC.

Dr Wagacha will replace former commission member Dalmas Otieno, who resigned last year to contest the Migori gubernatorial position in the general election.

The PSC had forwarded her name together with that of Japhter Kiplimo Rugut.

Dr Wagacha holds a doctoral degree in Information Sciences from Moi University. She has previously served at the think-tank Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (Kippra), Kenya Bureau of Standards (Kebs), Kenya National Library Service (KNLS) and the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation.

→ [email protected]

Source link


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here